On Changes and Bitterness

15 06 2009

The response to changes, nerfs, buffs, etc. in WoW that I least understand is bitterness. The “I worked so hard to get that when it was hard” reaction. What brings this to my attention are the recent changes to mounts and their pricing (full list of changes here). They are making everything except for Cold Weather Flying cheaper, including epic flying, which will now receive a faction discount. Some people feel frustrated and bitter with these changes, having spent possibly upwards of 20k gold on various riding skills for various alts. I’m of the opinion that this reaction is more applicable to more basic purchases, like materials and other things you might buy for resale value.

Unlike, say, your house, riding skills have no resale value. You bought it knowing that it was completely optional, cost a lot of gold, and that you’d never really get anything but faster flight time for a return. Same goes for BoEs that you buy for your alts – you’re going to equip them, not sell them. We should be looking forward, not backward; remember when you levelled your first character and 5000 gold was just a ridiculously insane number to even think of? Let alone the ~7000 gold it takes to get all the riding skills required to fly at 280% speed in Northrend? So consider new players wearing the shoes you once did, who are dealing with gearing up, learning new raid encounters for the first time and making their first 1000 gold.

Think of the children!

Don’t kid yourself, 1-80 is a giant slogfest of sloggy slogishness. The real fun comes at max level, when you can raid, PvP, dance around in LAWLPURPLZ in Dalaran, etc. Anything Blizzard does to alleviate the pain of levelling and in doing so the strain on our virtual wallets is a welcome change for me. It will bring more people to WoW and help get more of those people to 80. So every time Blizzard makes it easier, cheaper or faster to level, I’m just that much more likely to bring up another alt. Well played, Blizzard.

For reference, I have 4 characters with epic flying (one that doesn’t have cold weather yet), and I’m nothing but happy about the new changes to mount/riding skill costs.

My old main, a Druid, with his flying mount of choice.

My old main, a Druid, with his flying mount of choice.

Actions

Information

5 responses

15 06 2009
Misneach

Creepy.

We just simultaneously posted about the same topic with the same outlook on it.

Get outta my head, dude. :)

15 06 2009
shopx3

Wow, your post is pretty much the same as mine. Did you happen to read World of Snarkcraft’s latest post? That was what pushed me to post on the subject.

15 06 2009
Misneach

No, I didn’t. I’ll have to go check it out.

15 06 2009
Misneach

Just read it. Everybody’s got the mount stuff on the brain. I’m just glad I’m not the only one who thinks it’s not a horrible idea.

I can hear my alts rejoicing from here.

15 06 2009
shopx3

Agreed. My new Priest will rejoice in getting a mount at level 20 (that is, if she waits for the new patch).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

