One-Handed Weapons: A Death Knight Conundrum

21 10 2010

This has bugged me ever since I started Dual Wielding as a Death Knight. It still bugs me to this day. And it bugs me even more given the recent hullaballoo over simplifying stats and making sure each class has access to properly itemized gear. Changes in this vein include: all healers getting mana regeneration from spirit, reforging and the removal of ArP in favour of mastery (ArP was worth more to classes that did lots of physical damage compared to classes like Paladins and DKs whose rotations include magical damage). So what’s bugging me? Where are the one-handed weapons itemized for DKs?

Agility One Handers

Bad itemization, bad!

Oops. This post has been edited to reflect the truth

As excellent commenter Argon pointed out, not only can Fury Warriors also use one-handed DPS weapons again, but there are also a number of properly itemized one-handers for DKs and Fury Warriors that have popped up on Wowhead. So instead of deleting this post, which I considered, I’m going to turn it into a more positive one.

Thanks, Blizzard

Since 4.0.1 hit the servers, I’ve been noticing a lot of little things that just make life easier and more fun. So I thought I’d take this opportunity to give thanks.

  • ONE-HANDERS WITH DPS STATS AND STRENGTH! (Thanks again, Argon!)
  • General UI improvements (everything looks a lot prettier and is generally more elegant now, especially the spellbook)
  • Guild achievements and leveling
  • The amazing transformation of Haste and making it a useful, interesting stat for DKs (it’s really cool to have a stat that isn’t a straight DPS increase like most are)
  • The new glyph system

That’s all I can think of for now. There’s lots more. The only reason I didn’t include reforging in the list is because it’s just so complex and I have yet to wrap my brain around my feelings toward it.


Actions

Information

6 responses

21 10 2010
Argon

I thought I’d read somewhere that they were going to have strength 1 handers in Cataclysm. Remember that Fury warriors can use them now, too.

21 10 2010
shopshopshop

Whoa, I had no idea Fury Warriors were going to start using one-handers again. Thanks for that. I’ll have to update the post a bit after work.

Also if you remember where you read about Strength one-handers in Cataclysm I’d be interested in reading that.

21 10 2010
Argon

Well, searching on Wowhead turns up 16 strength 1-handers with no tank stats (see the website link in my post). Only 1 epic thus far (from archeology) but I’d guess that’s just a matter of what they’ve done so far.

21 10 2010
shopshopshop

Well, that’s nice to see. Now I feel kind of silly. Thanks for putting me straight.

22 10 2010
sirfwalgman

All of those are in Cata though.. so your initial though is right on correct? Not much 1h str weapons in the game right now.. we have good things to look forward to though.

22 10 2010
shopshopshop

Yeah, my initial complaint is still pretty valid, given that DKs have been Dual Wielding for almost this entire expansion and never got properly itemized weapons. Oh well. I’m mollified now that I know we’ll get good stuff in Cata, especially since I’m not going to be seriously raiding until 85 at this point.

Leave a comment